top of page
  • Writer's pictureJon Wheeler

My Best Musical Bits of 2023 (Part 2)

best bits logo
Best Bits of 2023 continue....

Last week I shared some of my musical highlights from the first half of the year. Whether or not that was a good idea for a blog or not is irrelevant, because I’m now legally obliged to follow up with part 2. Before I do though, I kind of feel some additional, honourable mentions are due, but I’m scared of leaving people out, so I’m going to bottle it. If you’re reading this, consider that fact alone enough to get you on the list, fair enough?



August 2023

Victorious Festival, Southsea


Locally this is the big one. This year’s headliners were Jamiroquai, Pete Tong, Kasabian and Alt-J. On a stage somewhat smaller, in a somewhat quieter corner of the common, on the quietest day, just before lunch, Andy and I played some original songs we’d been working on, and some R.E.M. covers. It was awesome.


Two men at a music festival
Andy and I catching The Charlatans after our set, Victorious 2023.


September 2023

I Hear That Train A Comin’


It’s open day on the historic Watercress Line in Hampshire and 75% of The Alabama Stills are sweating it out playing to a small collection of bemused, beer loving bystanders in the engine repair shed. It is the hottest day of the year, and we’re spending the afternoon in a giant tin box. My favourite gigs are often  the one offs though, the ones you remember the best. All the gear had to go on bin liners because the floor was covered in oil and engine soot.



Three idiots play guitars with machinery
Playing the Watercress Line Engine Shed on the hottest day of the year.


October 2023

The Tony Tour Concludes


A few years back, a member of my guitar club sadly passed away as a result of Motor Neurone Disease. We had been taking the club to venues closer to his home as his ability to travel slowly diminished…. We called it The Tony Tour. In October we held a memorial concert for him in aid of MacMillan, featuring past and present members of our guitar and ukulele group, his widow’s acapella group, and his guitar tutor’s covers band. I can’t express how much I’d like to thank everybody who helped that day.



a guitar group plays to an audience
Performing at Midhurst Memorial Hall


November 2023

Double Header Tribute Nights


Our band REMbrandt plays double header tribute nights with our friends U2 Tribe. The real R.E.M. and U2 have a fair bit of shared history, both arguably reaching their commercial and artistic peaks in the late 80’s / early 90’s. Whilst R.E.M disbanded in 2011, U2 still record today, and if you haven’t seen any videos on youtube of their current residency in the Sphere in Las Vegas, you probably should. Our shows are very much “greatest hits” affairs, played in theatres and clubs. It’s brilliant to connect with so many like minded musical fans and share something a bit special.



A band plays on stage in purple lights
REMbrandt at The Acoustic Couch, Bracknell


A personal note to anybody who knows me : December 9th in Oving was very special too, but it’s pretty recent history! A heartfelt thanks to everybody who made that happen. Like I said in last week’s blog….I appreciate everything you do, we all need to be told that a bit more often. No maybes about it. See you next year!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page