top of page
  • Writer's pictureJon Wheeler

Imitat10n Of Life : REMbrandt's 10th Anniversay Show

I’ve been threatening on and off to clue you in on an upcoming show we (REMbrandt) have in just a few weeks time, and I never seem to quite manage it. Funny thing about deadlines is that they always come round a bit faster than you expect, especially when they’re booked a while in advance.


The show is on Sunday June 23rd, 7pm at The Hanger Arts Centre near Southampton.


For those of you who perhaps don’t know me as well as others, part of my working life for the last ten years has been REMbrandt, an R.E.M. tribute band formed by a gentleman by the name of Steve Hayden. Some of you may not be aware of R.E.M.s back catalogue. We get that a lot. You probably know more than you think, so I'm going to put some videos in here for you to jog your memory.





It all started when I answered a Facebook ad for the rhythm guitarist position that my wife saw. I was resistant at first, but she was persuasive, and I’d never played in a tribute band before, so in the spirit of giving everything a go at least once, (within reason), I went to the audition. It was in a rehearsal room in a disused warehouse and some shipping containers near Southampton docks, it was vaguely terrifying.


I don’t in hindsight think there was much competition. R.E.M. despite having hits in the UK like ‘Losing My Religion’, ‘The One I Love’, and ‘Everybody Hurts’ is a pretty niche area. Before I knew it, I was in, rehearsing and planning for our first set of gigs in a weird and wonderful array of new venues.



I don’t mean for this to become a band history lesson, but after three years or so of a changing lineup, Steve left due to family commitments, and we decided to try our best to continue the band with a new lead singer. By this point I’d become the lead guitarist, with James Cadwell on bass, Chris Hodgson on rhythm guitar, and Jeff Clark on drums. Joe Butt became the new lead singer, and we moved on. Fewer pubs, more festivals, theatres and arts centres came along, and we gradually built the band until COVID.


Now in our tenth year, Andy Osman is the lead vocalist, as we head towards our tenth anniversary show at the Hanger Farm Arts Centre near Southampton. Hanger Farm has been good to us, playing host many times over the years to our various incarnations. It’s a venue owned and operated by The Minstead Trust, who do great work with people with learning disabilities, helping them to lead productive and fulfilling lives. 


 a barn like concert venue
Hanger Farm Arts Centre

This show, which we’ve called “Imitat10n”, will be different from any other we’ve performed before. There'll be new songs, hits, personal favourites, and a few we haven't played since Steve left. We’ll be supported by Sophie Hodgson, who aside from being Chris’ wife is an excellent folk singer songwriter, and BEMIS, a legendary local originals band described as a latter day Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. Aside from a little petrol money for the bands, all proceeds from the show will be going to The Minstead Trust.





Hanger Farm is a beautiful, comfortable venue. This band, this show and these people are very important to me, and I thank you all for your support, (that goes to all band members past too). If you’re free and you’re able to come, it’s going to be a great night, for a good cause, I hope to see you there, SUNDAY JUNE 23RD.


Tickets Available Online here:



a music poster with frozen fish
Imitat10n Poster




Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page