top of page
  • Writer's pictureJon Wheeler

The Reassembler. James May builds a guitar...

Ok. So, we’ve started to look at how things work musically, it seems appropriate that we also have a bit of a think about how things work mechanically.


Last year, for a ‘significant birthday’ I received a guitar amplifier. Home built, partially from a kit, by my friend and bandmate Chris. It was a truly thoughtful gift, and something a bit special. For the nerds like Chris and I, it’s basically the head of a Vox AC30 Top Boost, which I understand might be beyond some people, but suffice to say that this particular style of amplifier is favoured by many, many guitarists, including R.E.M.’s Peter Buck. There’s your relevance for me. I'm a massive R.E.M. fan.



amplifer head electronics on table
The finished Vox style amplifier head

Note : the 'head' is just the actual amplifier, without an actual speaker.


Electronics is not my thing, but fortunately it is one of Chris’s many talents, and, Chris being Chris, I was also provided with a set of build photos at various stages I thought I might share with you at some point. That was originally what this blog was going to be about, but I was indirectly reminded yesterday about the James May programme, ‘The Reassember’ and I thought, actually….. this is a better place to start.


You will no doubt be aware of James May at the very least, from the UK version of ’Top Gear’ several years ago, but in 2016 he made a series about reassembling common electronic objects. The one we’re interested in here, is his reassembly of an electric guitar, specifically a 1984 Tokai Stratocaster copy.


So, this is a recommended watch from me. James May rebuilds an electric guitar from its 147 component parts (well, 146 plus a plectrum) in just over six hours. There is geeking over screwdrivers, and other useful and highly specific tools that spring from his immaculate kept toolbox, but there’s also some titbits on musical history, and the genesis of the electric guitar. Don’t worry though, the programme itself is 45 minutes, not six hours!


I’ll let you get on with watching it then.






Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page