top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Setford

One Man & His Prog. Three Top Tracks by guest blogger, Richard

Progressive Rock. What I know about progressive rock could be written on, well… a small, unprogressive rock. If only I had a friend… some bandmate with an expert knowledge of the subject. Someone who hosted their own, regular local radio show on the subject, that’d be the ultimate. Well you lucky people, I know of such a fellow. Step forward Richard Setford, who’s going to tell you about how his love affair with prog rock began, before suggesting three top tracks to check out that you might not have heard.



a music album cover compilation
Let's Prog!

a man with a guitar
Richard

Why Prog?

Guest Blogger : Richard Setford

My first proper introduction to prog rock was when I was 15 and on a skiing trip to the south of France. But first, roll back a couple of weeks from the start of that trip to a conversation I had with my Auntie Michelle. We were discussing music and my recent purchase ‘Love Over Gold’ by Dire Straits.


As an aside, she loved it, being a complete contrast to their previous album 'Making Moves' but the conversation also covered the dilemma I was having choosing which albums to take with me on said upcoming skiing trip. Michelle presented me with a tape (this was 1990) and advised that I listen to it in its entirety when the opportunity presented itself. A ten hour coach trip seemed to fit the bill.


Roll forward to the departure from school to the south of France. It was around 7pm, and there was much excitement. As the hours rolled forward, and once we got a choppy cross-channel ferry trip out the way, the mood relaxed and my fellow pupils (and our teachers) started heading off to the land of nod. Out came my trusty Sony Walkman and on went Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield. I took ten cassette tapes with me on that trip. I only listened to that one.


And therein began my love affair with Progressive Rock. I didn’t know it was prog at the time but as the years went on, the expansion of my album collection (predominantly CDs) has kept a pretty steady pace and the majority of it is based firmly in the prog genre.


Prog offers a beautifully diverse range of sub-genres. The ‘classic’ prog of early Genesis, middle-aged Pink Floyd (think ‘Wish You Were Here’, ‘Animals’, ‘Dark Side of the Moon’), Rush, Frank Zappa, Yes, Juniors Eyes, Gentle Giant, King Crimson, and Gong to name but a few. Their musical genius laid the foundations they for the likes of the modern prog rock protagonists, such as Porcupine Tree, Tesseract, Masterdon, Anathema, Big Big Train and Opeth, again to name but a few.



Hitchhikers Guide to the galaxy
Prog is huge. Like space.

I’ll warn you now, the genre that is prog is huge. So huge in fact that I think this quote from Douglas Adams and The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy springs to mind ‘Space is big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is.’ Replace the word ‘Space’ with ‘Prog’ and you’re on the right path, but please don’t let that put you off. Our mutual friend, the mighty Jon W, (awww, shucks mate…) has asked me to come up with three prog tracks that you’ve possibly never heard of. Yeah, thanks Jon! As near-impossible tasks go, that’s right up there with them.


This could be your first toe-in-the-prog-waters or you could be a seasoned audiophile who knows Closure/Continuation by Porcupine Tree is probably one of the best albums out there to really test a top-end hi-fi or indeed headphones.


My suggestion? Do what my Auntie Michelle suggested to me 34 years ago. Sit back and enjoy the following. Headphones or hi-fi, that’s your call.


King Crimson – Starless (from the album ‘Red’) -



Porcupine Tree – Anaesthetize (from the album ‘Fear of a Blank Planet’) -



Amplifier – Freakzone (from the album ‘Trippin with Dr Faustus’) -




If interest is piqued, and Jon thinks a good idea, then I’ll come up with a list of albums to check out at some point.

Enjoy!


Rich


 

I'd like to thank Richard for putting this together. Like I said from the outset, my knowledge of the genre is pretty sparse, and I wouldn't have generally considered myself a fan, but I enjoyed checking these out!


When I was trying to convince Rich to write about this at a gig we played together last month, (he didn't take much convincing, mind) we both recalled one of Richard's radio shows where he posed the question, "What actually constitutes 'Prog'?" The song around which he posed the question was the Dire Straits track, 'Private Investigations', which is actually one of my favourite tracks of theirs, bested only by 'Tunnel Of Love'. Johnny can keep his oldies / goldies!



a dictionary definition
What is the definition of progressive rock?

Hmmm. If you go by this definition it seems I've always been a fan of prog on some level. A closet progger. Perhaps you are too? Anyway.... that can be your own private investigation ;-)




30 views2 comments

2 comentários


Charles Rollings
Charles Rollings
21 de mar.

Interesting blog. Prog rock has a lot to recommend it, and I remember how much (at the age of about 12) I enjoyed "Tubular Bells" once I got used to the concept. And "Private Investigations" is a great track. But, personally - and I think it's the same for most people - prog rock tracks go on for far too long, which is the same complaint I have about 'slow blues'. People just don't have the time. And I don't even have the time to listen to classical music any more. :-(

Curtir
Jon Wheeler
Jon Wheeler
21 de mar.
Respondendo a

It's funny you say that. I kind of thought I agreed with that, but people will spend half an hour listening to a podcast, or sit through a film for three hours that they might ultimately find disappointing. In that context spending just ten minutes listening to one song, especially as say opposed to say two or three 'normal length' pop songs, doesn't seem an unreasonable use of the time. I suppose it depends what if any function music actually fulfills for you, and how and when you listen. Modern life has a way of convincing you you don't have time to sit back and listen to a whole album, or whatever, which is a shame, I think. You took…

Editado
Curtir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page